• Deutsch
  • English
Home / Newsletter / Chilean sites declared World Geological Heritage Sites

Chilean sites declared World Geological Heritage Sites

Torres and El Tatio

The International Union of Geological Sciences (IUGS) and UNESCO selected 100 places around the world that are of exceptional importance for understanding the Earth and its history, including three in Chile.

Torres del Paine and Geysers El Tatio are fascinating destinations to visit and at the same time important places for understanding the Earth. The recognition of these sites as World Geological Heritage is intended to promote their conservation and protection.

The Torres del Paine National Park in Patagonia, with its famous granite giants formed by the force of glacial ice, is home not only to impressive landscapes but also to a rich flora and fauna with 274 plant species and wild animals such as nandus, guanacos, red foxes and also pumas.

The famous El Tatio geysers are located in northern Chile at an altitude of 4,200 metres above sea level and are a popular excursion destination starting from San Pedro de Atacama. With 80 active geysers and an area of about 20 square kilometres, it is the largest geothermal field in the southern hemisphere and the third largest in the world.

For more information on excursions to these locations, please email to info@travelart.com.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *