• Deutsch
  • English
Home / Newsletter / Stargazing opportunities in Chile

Stargazing opportunities in Chile

While our photo-tour participants took some great shots of Patagonia’s dark night-time skies, there are few places in the world where the sky is as clear, and the view of the stars so ideal, as in the north of Chile. It’s therefore no surprise that several of the world’s most important international observatories are here, including the world’s largest radio telescope, ALMA. Recently, also, construction began on what will be the world’s largest optical telescope: the E-ELT telescope, to be built over several years at 3,000 meters above sea level in the Antofagasta region.

Astronomers from all over the world are regularly drawn here for their research; among them is Frenchman Alain Mary, who settled in San Pedro and now offers stargazing tours at his Space Obs observatory (San Pedro de Atacama Celestial Explorations). Visitors to this largest public observatory in Chile are introduced by an expert to the basics of astronomy and, with the help of a powerful laser pointer, are conducted through the highlights of the southern hemisphere. Also featured is an unforgettable glimpse of distant stars and galaxies as viewed through a telescope.

Another site of interest to sky-watchers is the Paranal Observatory, operated by the European Southern Observatory (ESO), located about 120 km south of Antofagasta, a short way inland from the coast. Parnal is the site of the Very Large Telescope (VLT), the Very Large Telescope Interferometer (VLTI) and the VISTA and VST survey telescopes. The secluded, isolated location, combined with the especially dry air of the mountain setting make it an ideal location for astronomy.

For visitors who don’t have a chance to make it that far north, there’s always the Elqui Valley, where a day of sampling the valley’s delicious pisco grape brandy can be followed with an evening at the Mamalluca Observatory. Taking advantage of atmospheric conditions similar to those further north – including more than 300 clear and cloudless days a year – this observatory offers visitors an introduction to astronomy and the opportunity to look through a 12-inch-diameter telescope for an unforgettable view of the stars.

If you’d like to include an evening (or more!) of stargazing in your clients’ programmes, please be sure to contact your travelArt sales agent.

Scroll To Top

• Deutsch
  • English
Home / Newsletter / Sternbeobachtungsorte in Chile

Sternbeobachtungsorte in Chile

Fast nirgendwo auf der Welt ist der Himmel so klar und die Sicht auf die Sterne so gut wie im Norden Chiles. Nicht umsonst befinden sich hier einige der wichtigsten internationalen Sternwarten der Erde, wie z.B. das größte Radioteleskop der Welt ALMA. Vor kurzem wurde hier mit dem Bau des weltweit größten Teleskops begonnen: in der Region Antofagasta wird auf 3.000 Metern über dem Meeresspiegel das Teleskop E-ELT erbaut, was noch einige Jahre in Anspruch nehmen wird.

Astronomen aus aller Welt zieht es immer wieder zum Forschen hierher, darunter befindet sich auch Alain Maury. Der Franzose bietet in seinem Beobachtungszentrum Space Obs in San Pedro de Atacama (San Pedro de Atacama Celestial Observatory) Sternenbeobachtungstouren an. Sein Observatorium befindet sich in unmittelbarer Nähe zum südlichen Wendekreis und ist für Besucher geöffnet. Bei einem Besuch hier bringt ein Experte Ihnen astronomisches Hintergrundwissen in englischer, spanischer oder französischer Sprache nahe und zeigt Ihnen mit Hilfe eines extrastarken Laserpointers die Besonderheiten des südlichen Sternenhimmels. Per Teleskop können die Gäste unvergessliche Blicke zu entfernten Sternen und Galaxien genießen.

Ebenfalls interessant für Himmelsbeobachter ist das von der Europäischen Südsternwarte (ESO) betriebene Observatorium Paranal, das sich etwa 120 km südlich von Antofagasta und 12 km landeinwärts befindet. Es ist Standort des Very Large Telescope (VLT), des Very Large Telescope Interferometer (VLTI) sowie der Surveyteleskope VISTA und VST. Die abgeschiedene und schwer zugängliche Lage sowie die trockene und besonders ruhige Luftströmung um den Berg machen Paranal zu einem idealen Observatoriumsstandort.

Wer es nicht ganz so weit in den Norden schafft, kann auf abendlicher Fahrt durch das wunderschöne Elquital in dem Dorf Vicuña halt machen und dort das Observatorium Mamalluca besuchen. Hier können die Besucher unter fachkundiger Anleitung unvergleichliche Blicke in den Sternenhimmel genießen, welcher hier an über 300 Tagen im Jahr wolkenlos und klar ist.

Wenn Sie Sternenbeobachtungsprogramme für Ihre Kunden einschließen möchten, wenden Sie sich bitte an Ihre/n travelArt-Ansprechspartner/in.

Nach oben