• Deutsch
  • English
Home / Newsletter / The Aysén Region and the famous Carretera Austral

The Aysén Region and the famous Carretera Austral

Through rainforests and coastal plains, across rivers and around lakes, through rock and along fjords and beaches, the 20-year construction of the Carretera Austral reached completion in 2000 at a cost of USD $300 Million. Starting in Puerto Montt, capital of Los Lagos Region, the Carretera Austral winds its way southward 1200 km to Villa O’Higgins, providing vehicle access to previously unreachable areas. Visiting this region is like a journey back in time, with horses and oxcarts still a common mode of transportation. Only about 100,000 people live along the route, with half of these in the provincial capital of Coyhaique. This is an adventurous road, with plenty to discover, including some of the most important national parks and reservations in Chile. One highlight is the Laguna San Rafael, which is part of a UNESCO World Biosphere Reserve; another is the village of Caleta Tortel, connected to the Carretera via a new spur completed ten years ago. You’ll find no roads inside the village, only boardwalks and wooden stairs winding between the houses nestled between the forest and the shore of an inland fjord.
The region around the Carretera Austral is perfect for nature lovers – and ideal for rent-a-car customers. However, the route should be planned well, since on some sections there are no gas stations and only a few small accommodations. Although the government has recently upgraded much of the Carretera Austral, long stretches remain gravel-surfaced, and the northernmost part is interrupted by three straits that must be crossed by ferry. But there’s plenty of flexibility: for those without the time or inclination to drive the whole route, a tour can be started in Chaitén, Chacabuco or Coyhaique.

The northern half of the Carretera Austral is often rainy, but in the south the weather actually tends to be sunnier and a bit more stable. However, since it is very cold during the winter and the temperatures drop well below zero, the best time to travel is during the Chilean summer.

For more information about the Carretera Austral, please contact your travelArt sales representative.

Scroll To Top

• Deutsch
  • English
Home / Newsletter / Die Region Aysén und die berühmte Carretera Austral

Die Region Aysén und die berühmte Carretera Austral

Durch Urwälder und Küstengebiete, über Flüsse und Seen, durch Felsen und an Fjorden entlang wurde über einen Zeitraum von 20 Jahren die „Carretera Austral“ gebaut, die im Jahr 2000 fertig gestellt wurde und insgesamt 300 Mio. US-Dollar kostete. Vorher unzugängliche Gebiete Südchiles wurden so erschlossen. Beginnend in Puerto Montt, windet sich die Carretera Austral über 1.100 km bis nach Villa O’Higgins bzw. in das Dorf Caleta Tortel. Die Straße führt vorbei an Gletschern, schneebedeckten Bergen und unzähligen Wasserfällen. Der Besuch dieser Gegend ist wie eine Zeitreise in die Vergangenheit. Pferde und Ochsenkarren sind auch heute noch ein übliches Transportmittel. Entlang der Strecke leben nur ca. 100.000 Menschen, die Hälfte davon allein in der Provinzhauptstadt Coyhaique. Auf der abenteuerlichen Strecke gibt es einiges zu entdecken: hier befinden sich einige der wichtigsten Nationalparks und -reservate Chiles. Weiter trumpft die Region mit der Laguna San Rafael, die Teil des Welt-Biosphären-Reservats der UNESCO ist. Ein Highlight stellt das Dörfchen Caleta Tortel dar: Hier gibt es keine Straßen, sondern nur Holzstege und -treppen zwischen den Häusern, durch den Wald und am Ufer entlang.
Geeignet ist die Region rund um die Carretera Austral für besonders naturbegeisterte Kunden und für Mietwagenreisende. Im Fall von Mietwagenreisen sollte die Strecke jedoch gut geplant werden, auf einigen Abschnitten finden sich keine Tankmöglichkeiten und nur wenige, kleine Unterkünfte. Streckenweise besteht die Carretera Austral noch aus Schotterstraßen, und der nördlichste Teil ist durch drei Meeresengen unterbrochen, die mit einer Fähre überquert werden müssen. Alternativ dazu kann die Fahrt aber auch erst in Chaitén, Chacabuco oder Coyhaique begonnen werden.
Der Norden der Carretera Austral ist eher regnerisch, dafür ist es im Süden durch das Mikroklima sonniger und etwas beständiger. Da es im Winter sehr kalt wird und die Temperaturen unter null sinken, ist die beste Reisezeit im chilenischen Sommer.
Für mehr Informationen zu einzelnen Abschnitten der Carretera Austral wenden Sie sich bitte an Ihre/n travelArt-Ansprechpartner/in.

Nach oben